The Thermal
Technical Committee

The Thermal Technical Committee of the ESS has the mandate of promoting the research, development, and application of thermal control for satellites, spacecraft and space transportation vehicles, while striving for excellence, and enhanced communication between all parties involved in this field.


The field of interest of the Committee envelops all aspects of thermal control covering the complete temperature range and all associated technologies and tools, not excluding related subjects such as facilities and instrumentation for the design, development and AIV of thermal systems.

To carry out its mandate, the THE TC will establish thematic working groups, organise workshops and actively support the organisation of symposia and conferences. It will also support and promote publications in relevant scientific and technical journals, prepare position papers, etc.

In addition, the Committee will maintain an active link with European Universities in order to promote the awareness of thermal-related subjects among future professionals and to facilitate the contacts between industry and academia in this field.

Furthermore, the Committee will act as point of contacts with Technical Committees of other international professional associations within and outside Europe.

Tecnhical Committee Membership

Supper W. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)
Briet R. (CNES, France)

Barremaecker L. (EHP, Belgium)
Behrens B. (EADS-ST, Germany)
Bouilly J M. (CNES, France)
Bradshaw T. (RAL, UK)
Brambati G. Alcatel (Alenia Space, Italy)
Duband L. (CEA, France)
Figus F. (EADS-Astrium, France)
Hugonnot P. (Alcatel Alenia Space, France)
Jahn, G.. (EADS-ASTRIUM, Germany)
Lacoste M. (SNECMA, France)
Linder M. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)
Molina M. (Carlo Gavazzi Space, Italy)
Pin O. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)
Prel, Y. (CNES, France)
Price S. (EADS-Astrium, UK)
Ritter H. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)
Schlitt R. (OHB, Germany)
Theroude C. (EADS-Astrium, France)
Thomas J. (IPT Engines, UK)
Weihs H. (DLR, Germany)