The Mechanisms
Technical Committee

The Mechanisms Technical Committee of the ESS has the mandate of promoting the research, development, and application of Mechanisms systems and related technologies for satellites, spacecrafts, rovers and space transportation vehicles. The field of interest of the Committee covers all mechanisms related subjects such as:
• Mechanism design, analysis and hardware including specific simulation tools (e.g. multi-body dynamic analysis)
• Components, equipments and micro-nano devices
• Launch vehicles mechanisms
• Science observatories, Earth remote sensing and Planetary exploration mechanisms
• Space platforms, Tethers and Re-entry vehicle mechanisms
• Tribology and materials
• In-orbit performance and post-flight investigations
• Lessons learned during mechanisms development


To carry out its mandate, the Committee will make use of several instruments and media, such as the organisation of thematic workshops and symposia, the use of articles on technical journals, the preparation of position papers, etc. In addition, the Committee will maintain an important link with European Universities in order to promote the awareness of mechanisms-related subject among future professionals and to facilitate the contacts between industry and academia in this field.

Furthermore, the Committee will act as a reference for contacts with Technical Committees of other international professional associations outside Europe.

Technical Committee Membership

Migliorero, G. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)
Borrien A. (CNES/Toulouse, France)

Artigas F. (SENER, Spain)
Blais T. (EADS-ASTRIUM, France)
Guay P. (CNES/Toulouse, France)
Falkner M. (AUSTRIAN AEROSPACE, Austria)
Gass V. RUAG (AEROSPACE, Switzerland)
Champandard F. (ALCATEL ALENIA SPACE, France)
Roberts E. (ESTL, United Kingdom)
Schmid M. (EADS ASTRIUM, Germany)
Zwanenburg R. (DUTCH SPACE, The Netherlands)
Manzoni D. (CONTRAVES SPACE, Switzerland)
Skullestad A. (KONGSBERG, Norway)
Richter L. (DLR, Germany)
Humphries M. (SULA SYATEMS, United Kingdom)
Cauwe B. (TECHSPACE AERO, Belgium)