Technical Committee

The ECLS Technical Committee of the ESS has the mandate of promoting the research, development, and future application of life support systems for spacecraft, space transportation vehicles and future habitats, while striving for excellence, and enhanced communication between all parties involved in this field.


The field of interest of the Committee covers all aspects of life support and all associated technologies, not excluding related subjects such as modelling tools, facilities, habitability aspects and instrumentation for the design, development and testing of ECLS systems.

To carry out its mandate, the ECL TC will establish thematic working groups, organise workshops and actively support the organisation of symposia and conferences. It will also support and promote publications in relevant scientific and technical journals, prepare position papers, etc.

In addition, the Committee will maintain an active link with European Universities in order to promote the awareness of Life support related subjects among future professionals and to facilitate the contacts between industry and academia in this field.

Furthermore, the Committee will act as point of contacts with Technical Committees of other international professional associations outside Europe.

Technical Committee Membership

Lasseur C. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)
Spiro F. (CNES, France)

Brunet J. (Sherpa Engineering, France)
Demey, D (EPAS, Belgium)
Diels L. (VITO, Belgium)
Dussap G. (University Blaise Pascal, France)
Godia F. (UAB, Spain)
Houdou B. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)
Hovland S. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)
Lobasco C. (Alcatel Alenia Space, Italy)
Mas J. (NTE, Spain)
Mergeay M. (SCK, Belgium)
Raatschen (EADS-ST, Germany)
Storrs M. (BioMerieux, France)
Tan G. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)