The Aerothermodynamics
Technical Committee

Striving for excellence, and enhanced communication between scientists and engineers in the field of Aerothermodynamics (ATD), this Technical Committee of the ESS has the mandate to promote the research, development, validation and application of simulation tools in the field of ATD internal and external flows. The tools comprise computational, on-ground and in-flight simulation tools, including the physical and mathematical models, required to efficiently and accurately prepare and validate the design of space vehicles and components thereof.

To achieve this goal the ATD TC will organize thematic working groups, workshops and support the organisation of symposia and conferences. This includes the promotion of publications in archived scientific and engineering journals and the preparation of position papers for academia and political organisations. Care is taken that a healthy mixture of academia, research organisation and industry is represented in the TC. Furthermore, special interest is in the motivation of young people to further engage in ATD activities, and Space.

The final aim of the ATD TC is to become pan-European and, eventually, international.

Technical Committee Membership

Chair: Longo, J. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)
Hannemann, K. (DLR, Germany)
Onofri, M. (Univ. of Rome “La Sapienza”, Italy)

Behrens, B. (EADS-ST, Germany)
Borrelli, S. (CIRA, Italy)
Bruno, C. (Univ. Roma, Italy)
Cain, T. (Gasdynamics Ltd, UK)
Devezeaux, D. (ONERA, France)
Ekaterinaris, J. (Univ. Patras, Greece)
Gerlinger, P. (DLR, Germany)
Gülhan, A. (DLR, Germany)
Hagemann, G. (EADS-ST, Germany)
Herdrich, G (University Stuttgart, Germany)
Hillier, R. (Univ. Cambridge, UK)
Koppenwallner, G. (HTG, Germany)
Marraffa, L. (ESA/ESTEC )
Muylaert, J.-M. (VKI, Belgium)
Olivier, H. (RWTH Aachen, Germany)
Olsson, J. (FOI, Sweden)
Onofri, M. (Univ. Roma, Italy )
Oswald, J. (CNES, France)
Paulat, J.C. (EADS-ST, France)
Schrijer, F.F.J. (TU Delft, The Netherlands)
Schwane, R. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)
Simeonides, G. (HAI, Greece)
Smith, A. (Fluid Gravity, United Kingdom)
Steelant, J. (ESA/ESTEC, The Netherlands)
Tumino, G. (ESA/HQ, France)
Verant, J.-L. (ONERA, France)
Vos, J. (CFSE, Switzerland )
Wilde, D. (EADS-ST, Germany)